Europe Cartoons Comics & Toons

The Beano

The Beano is a British children's comic published by D. C. Thomson & Co. Ltd of Dundee, Scotland, which was first issued on 26 July 1938 (dated 30 July). Euan Kerr was editor from 1984 until he handed over to Alan Digby in early 2006. Alan had been Beano Chief Sub Editor when Euan first became editor, and later edited The Beezer. Currently the comic costs 85p.
There have been several long-running strips over the years. The longest-running strip in the comic as of 2006 is Dennis and Gnasher (overtaking Lord Snooty), which first appeared (under the name Dennis the Menace) in 1951. Other famous strips include The Bash Street Kids, Minnie the Minx, and Roger the Dodger. Lord Snooty appeared in the very first issue, but disappeared from the comic in 1990.
There are frequent fictional crossovers between the strips, with most of the characters living in the fictional town of Beanotown. Also, because many strips in The Dandy are drawn by the same artists, crossovers between the two comics also occur occasionally. As well as this, the comics develop a friendly rivalry.

All images and characters depicted on this site are copyright their respective holders, and are used for informational purposes only. No infringement is intended and copyrights remain at source.

Other Sites: Play Poker | Yankees Baseball | Cartoons - Comics | FIFA World Cup Soccer 2006 | Oscar Awards | Grammy Awards | Golden Globe Awards | Movies | Bollywood Celebrities | Hollywood Celebrities | Paris Hilton | Aishwarya Rai | Sania Mirza | Sachin Tendulkar
News Channels: India News | Kerala - Malayalam News | Malayalam Movie News | Tamilnadu - Tamil News | Karnataka - Kannada News | Andhra Pradesh - Telugu News | More Indian News | World News | Latest Sports News
Cricket: [Cricket Home] [India vs Australia] [India vs Bangladesh] [India vs England] [India vs Newzealand] [India vs Pakistan] [India vs Sri Lanka] [India vs South Africa] [India vs West Indies] [India vs Zimbabwe] [World XI's Matches] [Pakistan Cricket Site] [Live Cricket Telecast] [BCCI]